The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Handy for the barber's

I helped V move her stuff out of our cabin today. It took two carloads, but I was determined that it should all go today. In between, we sat on the floor in her new flat and drank tea and watched the top floor of the double decker bus come level with her window. Everyone can see everyone. A strange sensation.

The flat is on the high street in Stonehouse, and overlooks China City takeaway. The bedroom is at the back, thankfully. It's a lovely flat, though small, and has potential. Reminds me of my first flat in Stroud, 29 years ago.

After the second carload (we had my student S with me by now) we went out for lunch at a cafe where we sat outside. S was telling us that he had applied for a job as a carer but had not got it because he had not got UK caring experience. Afterwards, a woman from a nearby table came over and gave S her business card and said that she ran a care agency that believed in doing things differently, including providing training for new carers! Well, wow! I hope S rings her.

We did some charity shopping around the town and all bought something, then eventually V drove us back to Stroud. She is staying at an air b n b tonight, as her furniture is arriving tomorrow. I will either see her on Saturday or Sunday.

On arriving home, I hoovered the sofa that had been so recently covered in B's stuff for the past five or six weeks, then lay down on it to read. It's been a long time coming, this renewed sense of space and freedom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.