Drop-Shot

Yesterday at work was very quiet, until the last hour. We were just starting to clean up and prepare to go home and every person who hadn't been in earlier in the evening came in all at once. We'd ran things down as we did not want to let it sit there going stale, and had to cook fresh food very quickly. The customers prefer newly cooked food of course. If you have waited until 10PM to have your tea (Dinner for posh folk, though  you'd be less likely to be frequenting a High Street chippy/kebab shop!) then you want it to be good!

Hekmat had left us to our own devices but he arrived just in time to help with the cleaning!

The only other excitement was early on when a cutlery rep turned up. He had apparently left a set of kitchen knives for us to test, and now wanted payment or his knives returned. I knew nothing of this - the person he'd left the knives with was Watan who is of course, long gone. Fortunately the knives did not go with him. Hekmat had hidden them away so he could not take them, and told me over the phone where they were. Shame we weren't keeping them - they looked so much better than the ones we have now. None are held together with masking tape for a start.

I called my Dad this morning to see how yesterday's GP appointment had gone. They had once again taken him to the hospital, given him fluids and this time fitted him with a catheter which he said had made him feel so much better. It was 6 AM by the time he was home though, so he definitely wanted me to go over again to help him make his lunch as he was too tired to cook it. 

I did of course, though I'm feeling so exhausted and drained after four long nights at work and fairly busy days too. I should have an early night tonight but I don't like feeling that all I do is work and go to my Dad's and sleep so I probably won't! I don't know if I'll be over there tomorrow or not. He says he thinks he will be fine again after a good nights' sleep (He was very tired - understandable, as he's had hardly any sleep for the previous few nights and none at all last night! He went straight to bed when I left to come home!)

 I told him to call tomorrow before 9-30 AM if he does need me to go and I won't be at all surprised if I do get that call though! 

One really weird thing I miss currently is being able to smell nice! My Dad detests perfume, and it is  not appropriate in a chippy. I wear deodorant so I don't smell bad, but every time I get a whiff of nice perfume or aftershave even, I feel nostalgic for being able to wear mine!

I saw raindrops on the washing line again this morning. No sun shining on it this time, but they still had a bit of a glow about them so I had another go at photographing them. This is still not quite what I was after, but it's much better than the sunnier efforts yesterday. 

I've met our new neighbour when I was doing the bins - she seems quite nice. A lady around my age or a little older who works in social care. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.