In Town

I had no call from my Dad today to say he needed me to go over, so I cracked on with housework this morning, then headed into town to get Brian's birthday prezzies and card. Cutting it very fine indeed since his birthday is tomorrow! All is ready now though! I treated myself to a posh ice-cream for lunch - see extra! It was...OK! Looks better than it tastes though.

I took this photo of the War Memorial and St Benedicts Church in town. I don't think St Benedicts operates as a church any more, but there is a Christian book shop in there now - Unicorn Tree which used to be in the market. It also sold regular second hand books in those days but I don't think it does now.


I did give my Dad a call just to check he was OK. He says he is but he had a fall in the night whilst emptying his catheter bag, but no harm done apparently. He said he'd gone back to bed and had not got up until gone 10 AM - he is certainly catching up his lost sleep! 

Another problem is, he's lost his hearing aids! (Consequently the call involved a lot of SHOUTING on my part!!) He said he was half asleep when he took them out and can't remember where he put them. He's looked for them but can't find them. I will have a proper look tomorrow when I'm there. If they don't turn up I will have to book Specsavers for some more. He may be due a test anyway!

I'm not sure if I mentioned on here that I have to work lunch on Friday as well as night (I think I did...) Well, Hekmat called yesterday and asked me to do Saturday lunch too. I said Yes at the time, but reconsidered overnight. I can't not go to my Dad's for three days in a row at this point. Hekmat was not thrilled when I called him to tell him this news and says he will have to close the shop Saturday lunchtime. I don't think I'm a particularly good fit for the shop as he wants people who are prepared to make themselves available at the drop of a hat any time of the seven nights and two days that the shop is open, which I'm not in a position to do. Watan worked every single shift when he was there. 

It has since occurred to me that Brian has to work all day Saturday due to refurbishing his workplace and I may have transport issues if I do go over to my Dad's... I know the train I normally catch does not run then... I'll have to check out the options!

It will be my next mission to see what can be sorted as regards getting other help for my Dad to take some of the pressure off me and to make sure that no matter what he will have the help he needs on a daily basis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.