Marionb

By Marionb

Monday, Monday..

Another uneventful day - a quiet holiday Monday for me...spent reading and watching tennis and then welcoming home my neighbours who were off doing more exciting things for the weekend!

It was a good day to read...between tennis matches, of course...I managed to finish my book Three Sisters, by Heather Morris..(the third in her series that started with The Tattooist of Auschwitz, and then Cilka's Journey) and was anxious to start in on my next book..The Lost Notebook of Edouard Manet, by Maureen Gibbon ..a novel written in the form of entries the author imagines Manet makes in his notebook during his illness -  his daily impressions, reflections and memories... So far I am really enjoying it and have taken off the shelf, a favourite companion book to accompany me on this journey into the last years of Manet's life...The huge and somewhat unwieldy book has full-colour reproductions of his paintings with commentaries.. as well as examples  of his black and white sketches and studies..and is a handy reference to go to when the character Manet refers to or describes anecdotes related to a particular painting.. 

All this reading about the Impressionists is part of my plan to "Think France"..and reassure myself that I will indeed get back there soon! 

As Maggie stole the spotlight from the birds in yesterday's blip, I am giving them another chance..I have been curious to see how long it would take for the finches to discover the new Nyger seed feeder I hung up the other day.....it looks very different from the one they have been used to..but it did not take them long! I need not have worried!  One thing that surprised me though? The gold finches are no longer gold!  It seems they have their winter coats on already? (extra removed) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.