ONE OF THOSE DAYS!

We’ve had a “chapter of incidents” this morning.  Some of them were annoying, some tiresome, some frustrating, and some were “If this doesn’t get sorted out soon, I’ll scream” moments!

Because of these “moments”, I needed to have a wander around the garden, to just calm myself down.  Meanwhile, Mr. HCB just “plodded on” - as he does!

We had quite a lot of rain yesterday and by the looks of many of our flowers we had some in the night too, and we both said that even the grass looks greener already.  It’s definitely feeling more autumnal though. 

We are really pleased with our little Braeburn apple tree, but Mr. HCB says they aren't quite ready for picking yet.  Sadly, the pear tree hasn’t done much this year but hopefully it will be better next year.  The roses are just about holding their own but I’m pleased with our little Echinops, which was one of the “cheap” plants we picked up at Hilliers a few weeks ago.

Having done some Domestic Goddess work today, I need to pace myself for the rest of the day, tomorrow and Friday because I am due to meet two American friends in Bath on Saturday and then they are coming back here to stay overnight before we take them to Highclere Castle on Sunday.  If only housework did itself!

I did know this - if only I had remembered it before I did all that DG work this morning:

“There is no need to do
     any housework at all;
          after the first four years
               the dirt doesn't get any worse.”
Quentin Crisp

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.