The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Jambalaya

In an effort to use less domestic fuel, I've unearthed an old book called Meal in a mug. Unlike the mug cakes that were popular a few years ago, it's not just a question of throwing a few things into a mug and cooking in the microwave for a couple of minutes. This book requires multiple ingredients, some chopping and stirring, and lots of standing around while you cook the food in two-minute bursts.  Quite like real cooking, except the time frame is shorter, and the electricity consumption is less.

I adapted the recipe for two, not one, and served it in  bowls, not mugs. We both agreed it was delicious. Chilli.con carne, mug-style, is next.

This morning, my brother R was up before me, and I was startled when I entered the kitchen to see a tall man in a grey suit standing there. He said he was wearing it for the first time since he emigrated to NZ, three years ago. The reason for the formal attire was that he had to attend a conference in London (or give a speech there?) today. Steve drove him down to the train station where we said our goodbyes, then S dropped me at work and I walked down to Tesco's. It was still very early, but a beautiful morning to be out and about. I bumped into an old friend in the supermarket, and we chatted, until it was time to buy what I came for and head back to work.

Back down the tunnel then, with a 3 hour webinar, headphones jammed on. Went out to a pop in cafe with an elderly client, but  the cafe failed to pop up! The building was deserted, and no phone calls or doorbell-ringing could change that. I went back to the office and sent an email to the manager of the cafe, then researched other activities for my client.

Thus the day passed. Computer and phone oriented. When I left at 5.30, I got as far as a nearby roundabout before realising that I'd left my phone at work. Back to the office then ... I have done over 9K steps today, only half of yesterday's count,  but the tendons in my right foot are still swollen. I could swear I had the same injury this time last year! I think it must have something to do with walking steeply uphill in the suburb of Uplands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.