T. Tiger, Inspector of Peaches!

I had a hankering for a peach crisp, and it is of course that peaches time of year! So I went into Walmart to buy peaches but I found that their price - over $2 a pound - was more than I wanted to pay. I declined to buy peaches that day. It seemed like too much, but what else is new?

But then, I was still hungry for peaches, and we went back to Walmart, and I said - whatever they're charging, I'm buying! - and so I bought peaches at that price, which I thought was ridiculous, and paid almost $1 apiece for these five gorgeous peaches. T. Tiger has inspected them and pronounced them to be absolutely fab! And I agree!

So we turned them into a wonderful peach crisp very quickly, by peeling and dicing those peaches, and then mixing up and adding in oats, flour, brown sugar, butter, and cinnamon. Actually, as it turned out, the peaches were so big that we only needed FOUR of them, so we have one left to dice up and put in our yogurt some morning soon.

The recipe for a simple crisp is here for any who may be interested; I follow the instructions, but I put in four large peaches, diced, I used a cup of brown sugar instead of 3/4 cup, and I bumped up the cinnamon, because my husband is a cinnamon fiend from way back when: the more the merrier!

So the house filled up with wonderful smells and then we had a peach crisp, oh nom nom nom! Which is so lovely eaten warm. And if you have ice cream, put a little on top and watch it melt. Oh my, do we love peaches!

The song is Peaches, by The Presidents of the United States. Mangia!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.