Social Change

I have long hoped to see Gilbert and George when I have been passing through Spitalfields where they live. This morning I was lucky. I saw them coming down a side street and I jumped off my bike and intercepted them. They were perfectly content to be photographed and I watched them continue their perambulation down the road. 

They are keen documenters of social change and this theme continued as I moved on to the City. The Proclamation ceremony was about to take place on the steps of the Royal Exchange. Yeoman and soldiers lined the square as we looked on (extras). A few thousand people were crammed in to the side streets watching. We all raised three cheers for King Charles and sang the national anthem, which seemed strange with the change of words. Anti monarchists would have despaired.

I felt that Mrs S would have wanted to go up to Buckingham Palace so I continued on to the Mall. It was so packed with people. The roadway was closed off so people were confined to the pavements. We were all shuffling along and I could see massive crowds at the palace in the distance. 

I decided that it would take too long and wheeling my bike would be an inconvenience to everyone else. People of every description were moving onwards up the Mall with bunches of flowers. I think it is going to be like this for a couple of weeks. 

The sadness at the Queen's passing was palpable and there is clearly massive goodwill towards the King and the wish for him to succeed.

There has been some discussion from the side lines about the need to end the monarchy and change to a republic. I can understand the arguments and can see the logic. But who would we have as our president? The mind boggles. My choice would be Elton John. How about you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.