Team Spirits

This photo was taken by a RAF photographer; I'm posting it now because it's relevant to the recent death of the Queen.

Back in January 1991, two weeks after the start of Gulf War I, the Queen decided to make an informal visit to RAF Marham, near Sandringham, to make contact with the wives of those who were serving in the Gulf.  I was the acting boss of 27 Sqn and the station commander, one Group Captain Jock Stirrup (later Chief of the Defence Staff), chose my wife to meet the Queen before taking her to meet those wives.  It was a very tense time for the women and I feel certain that this visit was at the very least a welcome diversion for them, perhaps even a way to bolster their morale.  One of the ladies whom she met, privately, had lost her husband on the first day of the conflict.

HMQ did a great job; and I'm proud of Mrs B for the part that she played.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.