creative lenna

By creativelenna

a heron and an eagle

Yes, you read the title correctly! Both a little blue heron (above) AND a bald eagle visited our area on the same afternoon. First we spotted the eagle. He was across the river and far, far away, sitting on top of a utility pole. I looked through my camera to get a better look at him while Steven looked through his binoculars and this is what we saw -take a look. Even with the 30x zoom I feel I was really stretching my camera's 810 mm lens capacity as it was difficult to photograph something so far away. Steven used Google maps and figured out we were viewing the bald eagle from about 850 ft away.

I did get a few photos of the bald eagle, which even if they were not the best quality, it was still exciting. I have never photographed an eagle before! You can view these photos here. What I really loved was this little blue heron that often comes nearby, along the banks of the river canal to fish. This time he came in closer and landed right on top of our boat lift. I got a number of photos of him. More info about this beautiful little bird is here!

Enjoy-more bird stories to come, as we had a different visitor arrive the next day . . . it is certainly a wild kingdom here on the Braden River!

Just do what you do best.
~ Red Auerbach

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.