The second half of life..

By twigs

Godwits and stilts

Had a 9.15 appointment in town so took the opportunity to head out to the Boulder Bank too.  It was a bit too breezy for me, and a rain shower did dampen my enthusiasm a little but then I spotted a godwit.....

September is the month thousands of them arrive in New Zealand from Alaska........a 12,000km, non-stop flight taking around 11 days although I think these birds were overstayers from last year.  Someone explained to me that the new season birds aren't strong enough for the migration so stay put for maybe for a couple of years before they embark on their OE.  The Alaska contingent aren't here yet so I suspect these are juveniles.  It was pretty cute to see the godwits and the stilts sharing each other's company though, until the masses arrive later.  Looks like I'll be heading out to the Boulder Bank and over to Motueka too over the next few weeks.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.