Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2816. New Technology!

As you all probably know, I am a bit of a collector of all things tech! I have several large capacity external hard drives, all of which can connect to my iPad if I need them to, but they’re too big to take when travelling. I have a portable SSD drive that I bought specifically to use with my iPad for travelling but as they’re quite expensive to buy, mine is 500GB, which is fine when we’re only away for a short break but I have been looking for a bigger capacity drive for travelling which will enable me to keep a backup of my SD cards plus a backup of all of my iPhone photos.
I went into CEX for a wee browse around the DVDs and was chatting to the lovely manager in there and he always chats about tech that he thinks I’d like. I’d seen a small(ish) 1TB hard drive which was quite reasonably priced and asked about it. He said he had something much better, which was a bit more expensive, but it was 4TB!

So here it is, and I decided to photograph the drive with a tape measure, because, It’s tiny! So light and yet so powerful. It’s much faster than any of my existing SSD drives and I transferred 860+ photos from my Photos app on my iPad in just a few seconds!

Hubby was very impressed with it so immediately looked it up online and got a shock when he saw what everywhere else was charging for it. I paid around £90 for my larger 4TB hard drive, which isn’t an SSD and which is much slower than this and around the same for my lighter 500GB portable SSD drive. This one was just over twice that but, it’s so small and so fast that I can’t see me going back to my other SSD drive for travelling, plus it also has a two year warranty.

So my bit of excitement for today, apart from getting my new nails done ready for my holiday!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.