Trees, tours and flying boats

A dull start, but the forecast promised a sunny afternoon, which was good as it's my weekly visit to Dunollie to continue with the plant recording. For once the forecast was correct!

I didn't get a great deal done however as I had a number of things to discuss with several members of staff - there are all sorts of plans which include self-guided tours with various people recorded while speaking on various subjects, from tree introductions, to medicinal plants and castle history. I had hoped to finish tagging in 'The World of Trees' - but didn't!

I did take a few pictures before I left - this is the view down the Sound of Kerrera, with Oban almost hidden on the left and the island of Kerrera on the right. On the left, following the mainland coastline, is the stretch of water where the Catalina and Sunderland flying boats used to take off during the war when Oban was an RAF base.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.