Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Today is another day

It certainly is! Whereas yesterday was a sunny one, today is a dull and wet one. I had to go out for a chat with the dentist this morning and a physio appointment this afternoon, but no Blips jumped out at me, so this is another plant EB - a quick dash outside in the rain. 

This is a hardy begonia, Begonia grandis subsp. evansiana var. alba, to give the little darling its full name. The original species is native to Southern China and Japan - I've grown the normal pink form in the past, but like so many amazing plants from days gone by I no longer have it.

It's been planted in a trough outside my front door for the last seven years and never fails to reappear every spring. It's generally said to be hardy to around minus 12-15°C  which in my book means pretty hardy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.