The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Cyclamens

I was trying to take an interesting shot of these cyclamens on the grass outside my workplace, but an enormous long haired ginger cat (Msine coon?) kept nuzzle bombing me. The cat is nicknamed Beeches and lies just outside the side door, apparently. It's probably never allowed inside, in case it makes a dash for the waiting room. Needless to say, Beeches wasn't going to be the star of my shots: as soon as I crouched down, there he/she was, knocking the phone out of my hands.

Film society's new season started tonight. It's been years since I was a member, but I decided to give it a go this year, because the venue is perfect, and very central. There have been some cramped venues over the years, and the film used to be paused between reels so that tea and biscuits could be served. Thank goodness there's now a bar that also sells hot beverages, that stays open after the film. I think I'll invite a friend to come along next time.

The film was Limbo (2020) and deals with the experiences of a group of refugees from several different countries, waiting in Limbo on a remote Scottish island. It is at once poignant and comical. I would definitely worth seeing. As for the bleak West coast in winter, I've been there, got the t-shirt, as our family migrated from Dublin to the West Highlands in the mid-70s, in winter. Waiting hours for the post van to arrive, as the highlight of the day: I know that feeling well.

I am sorry to say that my right foot is still crocked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.