The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Comfort

It's chilly enough to wear a throw some evenings. I've finished the massive jigsaw, apart from the borders, for which task daylight is necessary. I shall not be doing another large one (more than 1000 pieces) again any time soon.

This afternoon I went on a home visit. I took the bus. The weather was beautifully sunny and I enjoyed the short walk around a different part of town. After I left the client, I just missed the bus, so walked all the way down through the labyrinthine estates until I reached the Co-op and the main road. Felt great to be out during the day! Got back to the office and my colleague gave me a lift home an hour or two later.

Just sitting in the cabin at home, I glanced at my phone and saw that S. Wanted me to help write an email to support a friend still in Afghanistan who wants to seek asylum in Germany. I said I'd give him half an hour, because I wanted to enjoy my evening off.

Then when he came round and showed me the subject matter, I felt mean spirited. This friend is gay, and has already been interrogated and tortured by the Taliban. He has fled the city for a different province, but now can't leave that area. His partner sends him money from Germany, but it's not enough to live on. At night, when he tries to sleep, he still gears his own screams from the time of torture echoing around his head.

We, who have the freedom to choose,
we who have protected characteristics including religion and sexuality,
we are lucky

we haven't been killed in a storm
we haven't been killed in an earthquake
we haven't been tortured
We are the fortunate ones

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.