Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Oxshott Heath

The forecast today was for rain, and thankfully it was wrong as we have had a lovely day. Today is the first day I felt okay and had no stomach cramps so I managed a short run first thing this morning - then Xena had a walk before I went off to my first Ladies Group golf coaching session.

I have signed up for a ladies group lesson at a driving range very near to our house, which I will do once a week or whenever I can fit it in, it is flexible and can be booked online and there is a good choice of days and times in which to attend. I had lessons there many years ago but I am considering myself a beginner as I was never very good then. There were about five of us with a female coach, and I really enjoyed it. After the session three of us had a coffee in the café and it was a very good coffee too, so I can see that will be a regular thing to do.

After lunch I had a doctors appointment for a check up and as it was so sunny when I got back home I took Xena to the woods for another walk, which is when I took this photo. By November the leaves will be golden and falling off the trees.

Last night I watched on TV the queen's coffin being brought back to Buckingham Palace - I felt very emotional as it reached Buckingham Palace and entered the gates, her final journey to come home, and I thought of the many times she has left and entered the palace for the many celebratory events, but this time it was for such a sad occasion. I watched again today as her coffin was taken to Westminster Hall with her children walking behind the coffin, they have all been so stoical and well controlled in such sad circumstances. The troops were absolutely incredible, so polished and slick, and I am sure every single member was doing their duty with such pride and honour. No one does pageantry like the the British, it is always faultless with so much attention to detail, it's quite remarkable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.