The second half of life..

By twigs

Where's all the grass gone?

When floods and slips ravaged the region a few weeks ago, the council quickly needed somewhere for trucks to dump the slurry, mud and other debris.  Three sites were set up around town, one being the field next to my duck ponds.  For a couple of weeks or more we weren't able to access the duck ponds as truck after truck drove in, dumped mud and left.  The ponds themselves looked decimated when I snuck a peek early on.  This site is now closed for dumping so today I popped in to see whether the duck-life was surviving.  The Muscovy's are still there, though appearing to be fewer in number, but I only saw a couple of mallards.  I have visions of their early nest building efforts being swept away in the heavily swollen creek, maybe with some of them too :(

Today's extra shows a general view of the mud pile - note a few minor slides on the lower hillsides and a few Muscovy's under the tree.

So anyway, what remains of the field is a bit of a mess - this wee chap was doing his best to wheedle some worms out from the compacted mud.  I think he managed just one whilst I was watching him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.