You’re welcome

Well that’s been a fairly satisfactory birthday, after a couple of not so satisfactory ones. Well, it was grand last year going for a lovely dinner at Glenturret and then going away to Skye with Mr A, but I think in a way I preferred today’s even if it also involved a fair amount of labour. Mr A did most of the constructive high skill stuff, making a super dinner for eight, but I got stuck into giving the flat a better clean that it’s had for years, before I felt ready to welcome guests.

Furthermore, for the first time in years, we welcomed sufficient guests in order to justify opening the jeroboam of champagne which L gave me last year for my 60th. So this was like an extension of that birthday, but with friends, finally. Readers may recall that there was quite a lot of faff about getting that present delivered this time last year, with DPD messing us around big time, and this has been replicated this year mainly by John Lewis messing us around. Hence the card…. Gave me a good laugh.

For the record, we ate canapés brought by R and J, insalata tricolore, fish pie with broccoli and red cabbage, and then a no cook cheesecake. Finally chocolates of course. In addition to the jeroboam, we polished off an unfeasible amount of wine….

I didn’t get to bed until 2am, so that’s a sign of a good evening, I think. Sunday will be quiet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.