Late birthday

A couple of late arriving birthday presents. A set of vintage silver coffee spoons gifted by Melissa. Gorgeous!

And … finally …. the long awaited DPD delivery. Or one of them (the other one is supposed to be being delivered to a shop on Great Junction Street and it keeps being put back each day ‘due to unexpected issue’). Anyway, we’d more or less given up on this one, which came from L, after the delivery app showed a picture of our fire door yesterday evening, as a reason for ‘missing us’. Halfway through the afternoon, L messaged me to tell me that he had revoked the delivery and recalled it, and that was what was recorded on the app when I checked. About half an hour after my last Teams meeting of the day (there were, as always, several…), there was a knock at the door and a very out of puff delivery man handed me this wooden box, which was in a large cardboard box that he had wrestled up the stairs. Yes, it was heavy. Yes, it is what you think it is: a jeroboam of champagne. I’ve never even seen one before (except at F1 races on the TV), never mind handled one. It is, as L said when I wrote to thank them, a big bottle for a big occasion. We have at least figured out that we will be able to chill it, as it will fit in the fridge on its side and diagonally across the shelf. Pouring from it will be interesting, to say the least. Anyway, who wants to come to a party?

Anyway, those were the fun bits of the day, along with a rapid walk around the parades and a quick spin at 6.45 this morning. The rest has been a lot of meetings, and a great deal of email wrangling, and quite a bit of reading paperwork of one sort or another. It currently seems endless. At least it is only for a defined period. The other thing that made me feel a bit depressed was the shortness of the day. We’ve just passed the equinox. Three months of suffering to come. I hope I manage to keep some colour on the balcony through most of that. It was windy today, so I had to move some of the pots around to protect them from the worst. And it was desperately dark. It was already quite dark at 6pm. Ugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.