Day 2 - Kelowna

A walk around the
waterfront and a painting
class to inspire me

~carliewired

I had a really good sleep overnight. I managed all of 7 hours which is most remarkable for me these days. I was up and out the door at 7 heading for breakfast downtown. I took my time over my meal, then headed off to Waterfront Park along the lakeshore near downtown. 

I'd run out of paper towel yesterday so I needed to find some before the class. It was too early for a grocery store on a Sunday morning. I tried a convenience store. Nada! I tried a gas station which only had toilet tissue. I decided that would NOT do for my class. I decided I'd best get my morning photos and deal with the paper towel after. 

It was a chilly 3 C but beautifully sunny morning beside Okanagan Lake. There are some luxury hotels and high-end condominiums adjacent to the lovely park. The walkways give fabulous views of the lake, the marina and the bridge. I'm always amazed to see pleasure craft pulled up in front of these accommodations. The landscaping is so colourful and attractive. The city really makes this a showplace. 

I did my walkabout, then headed off to a pharmacy to find my paper towel. I was parked in front of the art studio in good time. 

Mr. Cembranelli demonstrated a bouquet using wet and dry techniques for the first part of the morning. In the second half, he showed us how he paints wet on wet. By the time lunch rolled around my head was swimming. I said my good-byes as other left for lunch. I gave our instructor my sincere thanks for his excellent tutorage. It was time for a nap. 

I am back at the Airbnb for the last night. I will venture out to find dinner once I've had my nap. It will be Prime Video this evening. 

We're enjoying a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 20 C. I've made the transition to jeans, long sleeves and socks in my shoes. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.