Heading for Home

For someone who does
not like to swim, water has
a huge attraction

~carliewired

I left my Airbnb at 7. The owner was still asleep and the house was dark and quiet. I tiptoed out the door and sent a text message of appreciation from the driveway. Then I was off to meet for breakfast with my friend S.

S and I had a lovely chat. I have not seen her since before the pandemic. We wrapped up our conversation by 9 and I was on my way home. 

I zoomed home on Highway 97 making a few stops, especially for some photos. I stopped at the lookout for Kalamalka Lake, south of Vernon. I got two shots, one looking south and one looking east to the Coldstream area. 

As I rounded the curve past Vernon, I stopped long enough to get a photo of the old church on the O'Keefe Ranch. Saint Anne's Church was built in 1889 and was originally a Roman Catholic church. The O'Keefe Ranch is an historic ranch founded in 1867 and is now owned by the City of Vernon. I see it has been painted white since I last saw it. 

I made a brief stop in Falkland to pick up some borscht and some perogies to take home. My next stop beside Monte Lake gave me a look at the wildfire damage from last year. I did not notice a single fishing boat on the lake today. 

I was home by 1:15. This is the day my flooring installation was to begin. Some of the carpet had been removed by the time I arrived home. There is still much to do. 

We have a mainly sunny day with a high of 22 C. It was so good to see my mountains again! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.