The Grand Dames of Victoria Street

Two buildings of some
distinction and character, 
preserved for our time

~ carliewired

I was out just before 7. I picked up my drive-thru breakfast downtown as I wanted a look at two heritage buildings on Victoria Street before business began. 

I parked on the corner of 4th Avenue and Victoria Street to get a photo of the Plaza Hotel. This lovely old girl dates back to 1927. An association of 300 business people raised $90,000 in shares to build this in order to boost the profile of the city and its economy. The hotel has stood the test of time with many updates and renovations. It largely services the tourist trade with little for the locals at the moment. 

I drove down Victoria Street to the Old Bank of Commerce building. This was constructed in 1904 as a replacement for the wood frame bank building on the opposite corner of the street. The main floor served as the bank and the upstairs housed the male staff of the bank. Over time it has served as city hall, a police station with jail in the basement and a parks and recreation office. The interior has been changed considerably over time, but the exterior has remained the same. Most recently, an upscale restaurant has been here, but I fear it has been closed permanently due to the pandemic. 

I was able to complete my jaunt before the city really woke up. I was home by 7:30.

It is a beautiful morning, but there's a threat of rain this afternoon. We have a daytime high of 17 C expected. 

I will be home with fabric and will put something in the crockpot.

Plaza Hotel - https://www.historicplaces.ca/en/rep-reg/place-lieu.aspx?id=11833

Old Bank of Commerce - https://www.historicplaces.ca/en/rep-reg/place-lieu.aspx?id=12792

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.