Sunny afternoon

Luca's day with us proceeded as normal; farm animals don't observe bank holidays, so Josh was off early to work. Ruth and Eben had a day out together with friends.
After a quiet morning playing in the house, Luca and I went over to Jack and Marianna's. Luca and Frieda played contentedly in the garden, with Marianna keeping an eye on things,  while Jack and I pruned their plum tree. Jack thinks I know more about pruning fruit trees than he does. I don't, really; I know some basics, but I have to look up and check on some specifics each year, depending on each variety and on the tree's particular shape and details. I think J knows just as much as I do these days, and - being taller - he definitely reaches further :-)
Anyway,; we had a relaxed time peering at the tree and tidying it up a bit.

Later I took Luca home, and had a bit of a heart to heart with Ruth. Both of us experience periodic waves of worry about Luca. He's doing well, really well. But each time he has his routine check-ups and his blood tests for galactose* levels, Ruth frets about whether the results will reveal some shortcoming on her part.  The results have always been good, but I completely understand why she feels this way. It was helpful to talk together.
*Without recapping on the whole picture, as I've written about it before, the key issue is that Luca has a rare, inherited metabolic disorder and can't digest dairy products. They're toxic to him, cumulatively, so it means very careful vigilance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.