A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Bath tourist

This morning I have been a Bath tourist.

I walked into Bath centre at about 9.00am after the family had all departed. A beautiful morning, warm and sunny, I soon discarded my jacket.
I intended getting a coffee and cardamon bun at Landrace in Walcot Street as a treat but sadly, although the bakery was open, the cafe isn’t open on a Tuesday, will need to remember that.

Tried the cafe on Pulteney Bridge, one half was full the other not but I waited for sometime at the counter and no one came to serve me.
The sun on the weir was lovely and the first river boat of the day was getting ready to depart. I decided to join the tourists and go to Sally Lunn’s for my coffee and a bun.

Afterwards  I went into the Abbey.  The last few times I have been in the city centre there has been a wedding taking place and before that, in stricter Covid times, there was always a queue. Not today, it’s been a good few years since I visited before but worth a revisit.

It was very impressive and I loved this illuminated message in front of the alter. It seems appropriate after what has been experienced in the UK over the last 10 days. If only people could come together and support each other more often we would have a better world.

I wanted to find Lakeland so used Google maps. Right opposite White Stuff, Seasalt and Anthropology! Can’t understand why I hadn’t spotted it before must have been distracted by something!

Eda is still on mornings at school but has stayed for lunch for the first time today, GF of course but she loved it as they had Mango sorbet for pudding! 
Daddy brought her home and she has made a racing car and has now gone back to try out the ‘Explorers club’ that they do after school. She will be back with mummy later and pick up Jude from nursery too. Jude’s big day tomorrow as not only will she be two but she will be starting in the toddlers room instead of babies where she has been for the last year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.