Cookers

A Metheringham day - and what a long and arduous one it turned out to be again. It didn't start out too badly - there were cooking apples for me to bring home and not much work to do compared to some days. 

I got my Dad's lunch sorted and he mentioned that he still had not heard anything about his catheter care appointment. He was concerned about it, so after lunch and washing up was dealt with I called his GP to see what was happening. The receptionist I spoke to said that she could find no record of him having had a catheter fitted, despite the fact that he was referred to the hospital from the GP surgery...

She suggested I call the district nurse service to see if they had a referral for him. She gave me a number which turned out to be invalid, so I called them back. She found another number for me to call - they too knew nothing, but managed to find a record of the catheter being fitted which was more than the GP had! She suggested I go back to the GP and ask them to refer him...

I called the GP again and told them - the district nurse dept. had told me to tell them where to look for the record of it all... they found it and also learned that he was to go back to the hospital in another week or so to attend a clinic there. The appointment should arrive by post in the next week. 

All this was done with my Dad panicking about it in the background and a great deal of time spent on hold. All in all it took over three hours! I was exhausted and had missed my train by then - I just managed to catch the following one...

It wasn't all bad though - I have apples and the wherewithal to turn them into crumble - tomorrow...

And yesterday we watched the Superleague Man of Steel awards. Wigan Warriors' coach Matt Peet was named Coach of the Year, and it was announced finally that our star player and top try scorer in the league this season Bevan French has signed a new contract for at least another two years with the club. Amazing news we have waited months to hear! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.