This is the day

By wrencottage

Confused

On our walks across the Green recently I’ve been observing the ancient horse chestnut trees that line the road. They have been afflicted with the leaf-mining moth for some years – the leaves turn brown and drop much earlier than they should, and the trees look very sad. However, just lately I’ve noticed some patches of bright green on some of the trees, despite the rest of the tree having bare branches. 

Today I looked more closely; there were masses of gorgeous, shiny conkers underfoot and most of the trees had very few leaves left, but this is an example of what some of the trees are displaying – fresh green leaves, some sticky buds and even candles! It’s all most peculiar, and the poor trees seem totally confused. I certainly am!

I’m not feeling at my best this evening, having been asked by my GP surgery to take twice-daily blood pressure readings because my blood pressure is raised. The very fact that they’ve asked me to do it has probably raised it even more! So please forgive me if I don’t do much commenting. I’m feeling a bit low.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.