Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Past

As threatened, I’m posting just one photo of part of the mess I went thru today out of that one drawer of folders in the old bedstand.  ( the new one got built today…smaller..it will be fine…) .
I had forgotten about all the different venues for art back then  (a few juried shows, local organizations shows,  auctions for art organizations,  and rooms painted for designer showhouses.  but was reminded of how distasteful it always was to deal with art dealers. And how much work it all was.   I had 3 shows of sail paintings,  island paintings, and golf course paintings,  all at one lovely big gallery in the 80s,  but then got into more of the faux painting …walls, floors, floor cloths, furniture etc etc.   Saved one big folder of one notice of a few things and tossed the rest.  Saved a list of pieces sold…I was terrible at keeping track of the business of it all.. And there was one folder of Bloomsbury influences I had to save and I found another idea for another book from my friend who wrote the bear book —I must ask her about that.   If someone asked what I’d done with art,  I’d say not much, so I suppose it was good to see there were quite a few more “official” events.   Much more comfortable now, doing what I feel like when I feel like it.    But as my artist friend said last week…”you can’t make art all the time…sometimes you have to wash the floor“!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.