Evening forage

After work I took myself off for a walk to the allotment. I went the long way, collecting blackberries and sloes from the hedgerows as I went. It was a lovely evening after a very wet day. Cool but not too cold so 3 layers but no coat was all I needed - and a scarf! I saw one other person with his dog, and we exchanged pleasantries, but apart from that just the sounds of the birds. The blackberries are nearly over but I picked a few. There are loads of sloes so I will go back for more of those.

The chickens were hungry and pleased to see me. I also picked my first (and probably last) runner beans - about 5 of them. The hot summer and lack of water meant they didn't grow. But they didn't die either. So I'm just leaving them. If it isn't too cold I may get a couple more beans.

Got back just before Jon went out to scouts. He had cooked dinner and mine was in the oven. So I've eaten, washed up and done a bit of piano practice. I'm not very disciplined but poor Heather my friend at work who is try to teach me, keeps asking how I'm getting on! She has written out a simple version of The First Noel so that I can play something at Christmas! I am trying!

Now I'm watching The Repair Shop under a blanket, and plan to stay here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.