The Queen & an old diary

After work we went to yoga, where we relaxed in Weybourne village hall working through the yoga practice. But Emma had to compete with the noise of two enormous army helicopters, practicing their manoeuvres literally above the hall. I wish I could have got a photo of them, but it wouldn't have been appropriate to dash out of the hall mid yoga pose with my phone in hand. By the time we finished, they had moved along nearer the beach. Quite a sight.

We got home at 7.20 and our jacket potatoes were cooked. It's been colder today, so feels more like jacket potato weather. Then Jon had to dash straight out to a scout meeting and still isn't back. I went in the loft to find these bits, and my winter clothes (my wardrobe is tiny, so I swap my winter/summer clothes at the end of the season).

We saw the Queen and Prince Philip at the East of England Show in Peterborough in 1992. I happened to have a black and white film in my camera at the time, and remember being annoyed I hadn't had a colour film - but at least I got a few irreplaceable snaps of the royals - aged 66 and 69 being 30 years ago. It was the only time I recall seeing them. I also wanted to find this diary. The only one I actually wrote (apart from in the year 2000 where I wrote a full page a day diary as it seemed a significant year). So 1982 was a very eventful year in the young 16 year old Beverley's life. One of those significant events began on a chair lift at the Isle of Wight. I'll set the scene for those who don't know - I had left Guides in the January, because I had to at 16. But Lynn let me go to the summer camp in the Isle of Wight as a young leader that summer. Jon's mum was also a guide leader and her whole family also went to camp with us (as their family holiday) - including 17 year old Jon! The entry for 3rd August 1982 - 'went around a lot with Jon, he is really nice - I think I have a crush'. On the Thursday 5th 'went Alum Bay and down the chair lift with Jon' - I don't recall it being significant, but Jon's family maintain otherwise, and always say 'it started on the chairlift at Alum Bay'!!

My reason for searching this diary out, is that bottle of bollinger from yesterday's blip. I knew 1982 was when we first had a date, and wanted to find the exact date. It would be 40 years this year - so it means we can make a special occasion out of it.

Wednesday 10th November 1982 - 'Jon came round and asked me to go and see a film. We did. I made him hold my hand'

So it looks like 10th November is that special occasion, and I'll see what we can do to make it special for the 40th anniversary of our first date. Don't anyone tell Jon I've written all this! He doesn't read my blip.

I sorted all my clothes out - it took hours. Came downstairs to sit down at just before 10. I'm having a lie in tomorrow. I don't care if its a work day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.