Sunshiny Day

... and we walked the dogs without getting soaked!

It really has been a lovely day, warmer than of late and the sunshine brought the best out of the crocus and colchicum in the front garden.   Too many options for a blip!  I've plumped for Crocus banaticus, growing in an acid trough with a couple of truly dwarf rhododendrons, a salix and spring flowering Narcissus cyclamineus, all of which prefer soil that doesn't dry out too much.   This species, which comes from open places on wooded slops in Romania, is unique in that the three inner petals are much smaller than the outer three.   It was once called Crocus iridiflorus due to the iris-like arrangement of the petals when the flower is wide open.

C and I walked the Megs this morning as C was working later while Jamie and I were off to Aberystwyth for basketball and a bit of shopping.   Earlier I had been out at the allotment planting daffodils.   I like being able to pick my own.   We had a good trip out this afternoon and basketball was lots of fun - Tilda and I watched from the balcony above the court.   Home to more of C's delicious chocolate cake, shared with Katie who was looking after Meg for me this evening.   Nice day all round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.