A Slow Goodbye

We had great plans to do just a quick visit to a lighthouse not too far from the international airport in Reykjavík. But….I switched out my SIM this morning, back to my regular US one. And Gwen’s eSIM has been just a bit funky. So when we plugged in directions to the airport…no maps. So we used the car’s nav system. We’re driving along and all of a sudden the road sign alerted us that we were driving in the WRONG direction! And we had no working maps. Darned technology! Fortunately Gwen’s phone finally kicked in and we got ourselves turned around. Suffice it to say that we got to the airport and dropped off the rental car in plenty of time.

And just as we got there, I got a text that my flight was delayed. Fortunately I got to sit in the Icelandic Air lounge for the three hour wait. Gwen’s flight left on time, and we said goodbye at the check in for Icelandic Air.

So here’s my goodbye view! Off to my 7 hour flight to Portland. I leave at 7:50 pm and arrive at 8:50 pm. Not sure what that will do for jet lag!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.