Vintage phone cubicles

Four hours of teaching today - although it was the same two hour class repeated twice with different groups. We have slightly too many for one single class and slightly too few to fully justify two classes. Hey ho. Anyway, it was fun. If tiring.

Other than that, various bits of rushing around, meetings, and then at the end of the day to Parliament House for a reception in the Laigh Hall. Laigh Hall is reputedly where Cromwell stabled his horses when he was in Edinburgh and also where the national records of Scotland were kept until they transferred to Registers of Scotland. Googling some of this led me down a rabbit hole of intrigue about who actually owns Parliament House. Laigh Hall looks out on to the patch of grass you can see if you look to your right on George IV bridge, just after you've passed the National Library of Scotland. It also offers an access point to the Advocate's Library, and the person who was telling me some stuff and showing me around took me in there, and I spied these vintage phone cubicles, which would have been very important back in the 1980s and well into the 1990s. I'm not sure why they haven't been taken out yet, but they certainly amused me as historic relics.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.