Fremantle

I had a delightful wander around the historic streets of the City of Fremantle this morning. The main photo is the view along High Street towards the Town Hall. Fremantle is such a civilised place that I was able to stand there for some time without being run down. Whenever I stopped to take a photo, people walking around me would pause so as not to get in my way! What an agreeable place.

The WikiAustralia website claims that Fremantle is the best preserved example of a 19th century port streetscape in the world. Well, perhaps that's true. It's certainly a lovely historic precinct and, I believe, unsurpassed in Australia for its assemblage of beautifully maintained colonial buildings.

I travelled the 10 km or so from Perth to Fremantle by suburban train. Extra 1 is a view of the port of Fremantle from the train as it approached Fremantle station. During the years I lived in Perth (1977-81) the state government, led by Premier Sir Charles Court, closed this train line. There was huge public anger, and the government was defeated at the next election. The line was re-instated and now carries around 20 million passengers a year.

Extras 2-4 are further glimpses of historic Fremantle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.