Windmill 'Rijn en Lek', Wijk bij Duurstede

'Rijn en Lek' = the rivers Rhine and Lek.  The mill was named after them.
'Wijk bij Duurstede' = 'Wike by Duuuur-stay-duh'
'Wijk' = 'Wike' is where you get the English suffix 'wick' which is sometimes spelled as 'wich' as in 'Norwich'.  In short, 'Norwich' would originally have been 'Norwick', which would have come from the Germanic-Dutch spelling of 'Norwijk'.  We do have our own town called 'Noordwijk' here.
This windmill was built in 1659 -- 360+ years old!  Amazing, innit?  I admire how they've maintained it for so long.  But that goes for hundreds of other mills as well.
Extra -- a side view!

Fabulous day for the hunt!  Caught this very late in the afternoon.  It was also good to walk around the town.  The remains of the local castle are a tourist attraction, and I saw the structures years ago when I visited here for the first time.  I will also remember that trip for the fact that I had left my car key inside the car and had to phone for a locksmith.

At home, it was the usuals, including supermarket errands, kitchen duties, MOOCking, and lengthy mails from the Viking.  Good news came in the form of a confirmation from my boss that my contract will indeed be extended till the end of the semester, which is the end of November, after which they will see if I'm still needed.  I understand their position, of course.  At the same time, I knew I had to shop around again, so I consulted the internal vacancies, and, lo and behold, they need an English teacher at the Academy for Leisure & Events.  I prepared my letter, updated my CV, and then mailed my boss to inform him that I had to take this step.  He'll most likely reply by tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.