Walk in the woods

I've prepared my blip at the campsite and hope to upload it when we drive in to Armitage tonight. So if it is still Friday when you read this, then my plan worked!

We had planned a walk this morning, taking us on a circular route from the campsite through the forest to a small visitor centre cafe. The weather looked overcast but we set off with raincoats in Jon's rucksack, and hats, butno coats. It really wasn't cold. In a short while(after some uphill walking where I trailed way behind Jon) my hat and cars were removed. I eventually caught up and it just took an hour to get to the coffee shop where we had...well, you guessed it, coffee!! Plus flap jack. All very reasonably priced. As I had a full signal I uploaded some photos to Facebook and sent a few messages. Then we followed the directions back, arriving as the rain started. Thankfully it was light but once back inside, became very heavy. We had made it back just in time. It was a really nice morning, where we enjoyed the sights and sounds of the countryside. We saw two Jays and lots of squirrels, furiously collecting acorns. A stream and stepping stones, two big ponds and loads of autumn colours. We just don't seem to get out like this when we are at home. It was also a good opportunity to talk- I don't have any trouble with this but Jon couldn't escape me, and had to listen - and even join in!! So a good 6 mile walk, and then an afternoon relaxing after i had prepared soup of freshly baked rolls for our lunch.

I did a bit of random knitting. Jon read the book he bought yesterday. His second of the week. He is already a third of the way through it! I'm half way through my first.

Had a lovely hot shower and washed my hair. The water is so soft, it couldn't be more different to home. We are going out later to meet up with Karen and Neil in their local pub. I was at Chester College with Karen in 1984, so we have been friends since we were 18. We don't see each other that often, but as we get older and reduce our working hours, then hopefully our meet ups will increase! Karen has made the first move and is now retired, so we just need to join her!

Looking forward to an evening in their company!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.