Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Commute

It's a new week, and thankfully, we didn't have the traffic chaos of last week, so took the highway to get G to school. She got this picture of the Museum of the Future for me. The day was clear, and we were early enough for some good lighting.

Coming back was a different story. GITEX has started, and there were warnings of congestion around the Trade Centre - which is where I'm going to be for the next two days! In the past, I've walked back from the office when GITEX is on. Let's see what happens. It is still very warm - even in the evenings!

We enjoyed free coffee and a cinnamon bun in IKEA before looking at some of their departments and then having a light lunch. Home for the rest of the day.

Some things worth recording happened today.
I had another chat with the landlord's new rep, and this time they are willing to ask if there is any room to negotiate with the new rent they have presented me with
G has been (pestered) asked to take on a new student who is delightful (according to the school's assessment) but has gaps in his primary education. I think it will be a short assignment for her. :)
My endocrinologist (from when I had medical insurance) replied to an email I sent and said I could see him and not worry about the cost.
G was over the moon in the evening when she heard that the Asperger's student she's been working with for the last six years got accepted by the university of his first choice.


All this great news, and yet when we turned on the TV, the news from Ukraine (which dominated the programming today) was so bad.

As it is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, would you please click on this link to help with free screening? Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.