Mono Monday: Week 455 ...

... Urban decay.

Well ... I live in an urban area and this poor tomato is sadly decaying!  Sorry that's all I got!  Thanks to both Vicki and Andrew for hosting MM all this month.  I hope I'm not too late with my entry.

In other news: I had an appointment this morning with a general surgeon (recommended by my endocrinologist) to discuss my options for my hyperparathyroidism.  This was discovered from the bone density test I had back in May.  I've been putting off this matter as I simply couldn't deal with it yet ... especially after learning I have Type 1 Diabetes last December.  

But now it's time to figure out what I need to do.  Hyperparathyroidism isn't a common disease. It is most prevalent in older people aged 50 and above. Women are more likely to have it than men. It's characterized by a high concentration of calcium levels in the blood. It happens because of the over-secretion of parathyroid hormones.  And I now have osteoporosis because of it.   I have two options.  One is medication and the other is surgery.  The surgery would remove one or more of the four parathyroid glands and would take care of the issue permanently.  And that's the route I'll be taking.  Surgery is scheduled for November.  

I've done a quick catch up on my journal ... starting here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.