My day

….I have only taken one photo today just for a blip.  I had a list of jobs to do and managed 4 out of 5. I’m feeling back to normal after a below par day yesterday. 

It is bin day  (hooray). I usually have one small bag of general waste each week, a few empty milk containers in the recycling and a full green bin for garden waste. This week I had practically none as I really couldn’t get any gardening done with Luna the visiting spaniel here. Now she is home I had just a day to fill up my green bin. I started cutting back another small box hedge which never looks tidy and after about 5 minutes my bin was full. Our neighbour saw me and offered his bin so I quickly filled it as well. 

For the last few years I have been drought proofing the garden as we had water restrictions from 2017. Since then we have had abundant rain.  Now I’m trying to get the garden suitable for an older person (me) without a lot of hedging and clipping to be done. I won’t be 59 for much longer and hope it means I can enjoy my flowers for many years in the future.

We have a small fish pond and recirculate the water through a garden trough which has herbs growing in it. It filters the water for the fish and the fish water fertilises the plants. Sounds great but alas the hose came adrift overnight and the poor fish were trapped in a very shallow puddle. They are old and large goldfish we have had for ages. After awhile they started floating the right way up but one was looking very sick lying on it’s side earlier. 

The blip is the second book about the Hundred Year Old Man who is celebrating his 101st birthday. The novel somehow weaves major historical events around the Old Man who just happens to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. It is quite absurd but very funny in parts. I’m enjoying it but it’s not for everyone. The cup of tea is one I forgot to drink and had to be heated up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.