Prowling...

.. is the title of the new art exhibit at our local Station Gallery. Apparently, it is a combination of conceptional ceramics, installation and performing art created by the Iranian-born artist Reza Hosseiny. 

I was anxious to see the exhibit - a little too anxious perhaps, as only part of it was ready for prime time when I went! It was to open on October 8, but I guess with that being Thanksgiving Weekend, all the installation did not get completed. 

The ceramics gallery was ready though and I absolutely loved the display and almost every piece in it! (extra) On going to see the other gallery room (only to see that it was not quite ready yet), I met the artist! He was helping set up...how neat was that? There is so much I would love to have asked him, but alas, it was not the time or place...

I will go back again to see that second exhibit and perhaps will attend the performance art and opening reception this Saturday... As much as I loved the ceramics, I didn't really understand what he was trying to say with them; the description that accompanies the exhibit reads like a thesis for a PhD. Why curators or artists themselves cannot express in everyday language what their work of art is about, I do not know. 

"This solo exhibition congregates two interconnected bodies of work - the Inversion Collection and the Upright Collection which explore the crossing of performative action, conceptual ceramics and hand-built pottery. Every piece radiates with meaning" (excerpt from the full description which I found even more puzzling) 

Methinks, before I can find this radiating meaning, that it would help to see the other two components of the exhibit? They are supposedly all connected. And maybe by then, each piece will at least have a title displayed? Hints like that help people like me! I will definitely return as I am very curious. 

Also, whilst there, I saw a poster asking us to join the Day of the Dead celebration at the gallery at 7PM on November 1. Tickets required... hmmm.. I am not sure just what that might entail..but I will certainly ask! (As an aside, an unfortunate scheduling by my cardiologist, puts my echogram on Nov. 1, Day of the Dead! Geez! I may or may not be in the mood to attend that "celebration"! )

PS: On my walk around the neighbourhood this evening I noted that Hallowe'en lawn decorations have been taken out of storage and are popping up everywhere... I anxiously await the arrival of the inflatables.. Not! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.