An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Spot the David...

He's under that pile!!  hahahahaha!

So they've arrived and a week of mayhem has begun :-))

The day started off very calmly.  Leisurely lunch then time in the studio, then some crochet time.

Alan was going in the pool at 5.30pm.  S, L and the girls arrived just after 5. Great excitement! Lola and their dog Lily are old pals now so the had a great time getting reacquainted.  David just had time to say hello before he went in the pool with Alan.

We all sat and chatted at the kitchen table while I prepared a chicken korma from the fabulous spice blends S gave me the last time they were here.  First time I've made a Korma curry using those particular spice blends and as I prepared the paste I could tell from the amazing aroma that it would be something special, and it was.  We all tucked in, even the girls and everyone had seconds, gutsy D some even had thirds!  I will be making it again :-))

After dinner the girls had loads of questions - can we swim tomorrow? When is the halloween party? Can we draw with you? When will we see Esme? What's for pudding? Can we play the piano? To name a few.  And of course we played with Snapchat filters :-)) 

We all settled in the garden room and D became a magnet for the girls and the dogs.  It's absolutely hilarious how they all want to talk to him and get his full attention.  His patience is endless so that might be a reason he's so popular.  

A few games of rock / paper / scissors, eye-spy, story telling, activity planning for the coming week and then it was bedtime for the girls.  Much protesting of course...just five more minutes.  S announced if they weren't in bed in the next two minutes there would be no swimming tomorrow.  Her tone of voice showed she meant business!  They jumped up and after a flurry of cuddles and goodnights they were gone!  

L brought us some lovely homegrown produce from their allotment.  Cabbages, cucumber, Kale, turnips, beetroot and lettuce.  When I opened the bag the smell reminded me of my grandpa's homegrown veg that I was lucky enough to enjoy all through my childhood.  It made me quite emotional.  

So the plan for tomorrow is to get the Halloween decs up for the party on Sunday, prep as much of the buffet as possible, swim for the girls, and maybe some drawing.  I won't weary :-))

Happy days :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.