MENAI SUSPENSION BRIDGE

Another beautiful sunny day but very blowy.

We popped down to Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch
 train station this morning (see extras).  Yes I can still say it, it's something I've just never forgotten how to do!!!

It was so sad seeing the station now nothing more than jut two platforms.  The old station is closed up and going to ruin.  I so remember getting trains from there (sometimes steam ones as they still used to run on the main line on Anglesey back in the day) and it had a lovely ticket office and Station Master.  

That is the only thing worth stopping for there however.

From there we went onto Plas Newydd today.  It is most famous for .it's association with Rex Whistler and houses his romantic mural and the largest exhibition of his works.  The mural was worth seeing and there was a very interesting exhibition about the Battle of Waterloo, otherwise the house was really a bit disappointing.  However the grounds and its views are simply stunning.  We went fir quite along walk (for us) through most of the grounds and through the Church Woods, which was the quietest part of the place.

After that we went onto Menai Suspension Bridge and stopped off at a layby to take the photo above.  It is a Thomas Telford bridge.

After that we went to Traeth Coch (Red Wharf Bay).  It was extremely busy here, that Hubby had to hold onto me whilst I was taking a photo as I almost got blown over!!!!  Beautiful though.

We went into a lovely Restaurant called The Boat House - amazing food.  I had a seafood linguini and Hubby had a Fish Pie.  Too much for me as I'm still being careful but it was amazing.

My Dad used to tell me that there is a pub there that used to get off by the tide so he would arrive at a certain time and then "had" to stay there until the tide went out again.  Now whether that was ever true or whether that was one of the wonderful stories my Dad used to tell me I don't know.  The pub in question is still called The Ship Inn and once upon a time that and a small cottage next to it used to be the only two buildings down there.  Not now though of coure.  In the summer it's almost impossible to find a parking space but today wasn't too bad.

We then headed for home.  We could feel the salt on our faces but it was a lovely day.

I have taken so many photos now that it's going to take me all winter to edit them all - so  guess what I will be doing on the wet winter days to come!!! 

Very many thanks for dropping by.  Do take care of yourselfs and stay safe and I will try and go through your blips later, but as I'm on holiday please forgive me if I don't manage it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.