LADI WEN

Or in English White Lady.  This is Porth Padrig with Eglwys Llanbadrig (Church of St Patrick, Cemaes Bay up on the headland above it.  It is known to us English as White Lady Bay, there is an old original Welsh name for it, which sadly I can't remember but will try to find  it.  It is so named because the sea stack there used to be in the shape of a lady and when the sun hits it,  like today, it looks white. 

Such a glorious day to day and so warm, more like early September than middle of October.  

We decided to make the most of it and walked up over the headlands from Traeth Mawr in Cemaes up to Eglwys Llanbadrig.  Such a glorious walk. It's right out in the middle of nowhere and such amazing views.  From behind the church, in the graveyard there look over to  your left and you can see tthe Skerries Lighthouse (see in extras).  I remember as a child that from our bedroom window we could just make the out light coming from the lighthouse as it turned round.

The walk took a while.  I used to run like crazy up here, hang on the cliffs - today I could manage the walk but some of the steps are so high that they don't cater for people with shorter legs (I often have that problem). How on earth did I ever just hare aroud like that, not worry where I put my feet and didn't even spot the many dangers of big drops down to rocks and deep sea!!!!

Whilst there I got chatting to a lady who is a volunteer at the church, so we shared reminiscences.  

We only came across one group of 4 people just finishing the walk as we were starting and on other couple who were only doing the short stretch of Eglwys Llanbadrig to White Lady Bay as they were waiting to go to Holyhead to get the ferry back home to Ireland.

There were also a couple of people came to the little car park by the church just as we were leaving.  Exactly as I remember it - mysterious, remote and gorgeous.  On greyer and mistier days I remember it feeling very spooky and we used to scare ourselves silly with ghost stories, most of which we made up of course!!!

We then walked back down the road this time, much shorter, only about 2 miles.  We were going to stop off at the Gadlys Hotel for lunch but decided to wait until we got into Cemaes village and go back to Yr Gloch (The Bell) for lunch.  Aaarggh it was shut.  I discovered later that it was because they were having a new boiler fitted today, but will be open again tomorrow!!!

So nothing else was open so we popped back up to the bungalow for some lunch.  We were then going to go back into to the village this afternoon to go on the harbouf and Traeth Bach.  However my old school friend contacted me and yeah we met up.  50 plus years later and we were chatting as if we'd been in touch for ever.  It was a very emotional but lovely visit and I thank her for welcoming us to her lovely home.

We were going to go to The Stag (hotel cum pub) tonight but hubby was feeling a bit off colour so we decided to give it a miss.

The weather is due to turn tomorrow so I'm not sure now whether I'll get to go onto the harbour and the traeth bach or not but we will see, you never know there could be bright spells too!!  As long as Hubby is OK then we will do something.

I can't believe how lucky I was to grow up here, it truly was a magical time.  We used to take it for granted that we could see seals, many birds and so much scenery - I suppose as a child you just don't appreciate it until you get older!!!

Sorry for the lack of comments on your blips, but I will try to get back to them tomorrow but I'm just enjoying being on holiday - I'm  sure you all understand.

Do take care and stay safe and I will see you tomorrow.

PS  In the extras there is also another shot of White Lady Bay but from a much further distance and those steps you can see I had to get up thosse and some were very high!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.