Beer Garden View

I accompanied J on this afternoon’s visit to the hospital, and whilst she as usual headed to the unit, I walked up the hill to Halton Castle. We’re both looking forward to Wednesday when our days will cease to be hospital focussed for a while.

At the top of the hill I did something I haven’t done since early 2020. Masked, I went into a pub (appropriately named “The Castle”). Or more accurately, through the pub (there was one young lady at the bar, and five customers), to the deserted beer garden at the back.

This must be one of the more spectacular beer gardens. It is the castle itself, only accessed from the pub. There is the best view of Fiddlers Ferry Power station, and much more. It would be the best place to witness the demolition of the cooling towers, pint in hand.

The castle was first constructed in 1071 by Nigel, the first Baron Halton. The last Baron Halton was Bolingbroke, who became Henry IV. The pub was built as a courthouse in 1737 - the castle had served as a court and lock-up for much of its history. The courthouse closed in 1908. I have never seen the pub looking busy. It’s a bit of a walk from anywhere I suppose, or maybe it’s busier in the evenings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.