The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The boys are back in town

Work has resumed on replacing the sewers in Nelson Street. This part of the project requires sporadic road closures over a 14 month period. It's only month 7 now. CleanSteve has written about the road closures and sewer replacement programme in his blip of 10th October.

A lovely day, but apart from walking to and from work and popping out at lunchtime, I didn't really notice the weather. The window in the town surgery overlooks the waiting room.

Had to sort out some orders for cards etc when I got home. The front room looked like an explosion in Santa's grotto. Also busy investigating The Case of the Disappearing Clothes...

Last week, while I was away, Steve posted a pre-packed parcel of clothes to my mother. I'd spent a few days shopping for blouses for my mother, and had included a warm coat too, because I was told she needed clothes. A further package had been sent on Saturday, which my sister M told me had received today. She was delighted with the blouse.

This made me wonder about whether the 'big parcel' had arrived, so I tracked it, and found it had been delivered and signed for last Friday. Family members on our chat group wondered whether a neighbour might have accepted it for her, but then M found a box of coffee creams in the kitchen. We knew they'd been in the parcel. The clothes were nowhere to be seen. So, after M had sorted out supper for our mother, she had a look in a cupboard. The coat was eventually located, hanging up, and the three shirts surfaced too, folded up in a cupboard. M asked her about it, but our mother had absolutely no recollection of having received a parcel of clothing, nor of putting it away. I guess she won't be wearing the new threads any time soon.

And now I'm feeling rough. Had both vaccines on Saturday, so it had better not be flu or CoVid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.