The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Morning coffee

GG popped round, as we'd decided to go out for coffee. I'd put on my hiking boots, as it was a lovely day for a walk..We drove the short distance to the canal, sorted out GG's footwear, and walked to Wallbridge, where the Lock Keepers cafe is situated. Ended up having baked potatoes, as it was just about lunchtime, and didn't regret the decision. The drinks were good, too, as you can see.

Walked back, exploring a few byways as we went, and G dropped me off. I had just time to hang out the washing and change my shoes, before I had to dash out to meet some fellow concert-goers down the road.

Since my friend GS died, our small group of concert goers in Nailsworth has been without transport, so I'd organised a minibus this time round. Because it was all very lastminute.com, there weren't many of us this time, but we were joined by two more club members in Nailsworth. The concert was excellent (a Vaughan Wiiliams programme, including The Lark Ascending). The emotion was heightened for me when there was a sudden call of 'is there a doctor in the house?' because a person had apparently had some kind of medical incident and was non-responsive. There WAS a doctor, and the person was carried out, chair and all, and help was summoned. After an anxious ten minutes, the music programme resumed, and we were told at the end, by the doctor, that the patient was sitting up and talking, and a ambulance was on its way.

The concert and the tea afterwards were declared a success by the club (an offshoot of the WEA), and there is enthusiasm for the concert next month. I've signed up a few more takers as well, since returning home. This is a great relief. I have to say, it was a sight easier when there were just four of us in a car, laughing all the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.