Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The 'Dees

I can't imagine any person not being charmed by chickadees and their kin, the tits.  They are tiny, cheery little birds that feed in small mixed flocks in the winter, quick to sound the alarm if a predator is seen.  I have a theory (and it is only that) that most hawks would bypass a chickadee in favor of something a bit larger, like maybe a sparrow.  Interestingly, although I have found evidence in the yard of hawks eating just about every bird species that visits regularly, I've never found the remains of a chickadee.  Perhaps a coincidence, perhaps not.

As you can see in this image (and it's worth seeing in Large) the fall colors are still clinging to the trees in our woods.  Soon I will be shooting against a background of barren trees ... sigh.  And a year ago today I was at 14,000 feet altitude in the Andes, searching for a fabulous endemic hummingbird.  Was I successful?  Click HERE and all will be revealed.

Jax has been a very chill dog today - content to mostly nap in front of the fire.  As much as he seems not to like the summer heat all that much, he loves sitting directly in front of the fireplace.  I took him on a little enrichment trip to Tractor Supply, a store that's dog-friendly and has all sorts of interesting things for a dog to sniff and explore.  And, bonus, the cashiers always have dog treats!  It's about a 20 minute car ride (which he also loves) and the whole thing seems to have tired him out so he is, once again, stretched out in front of the fire.  

I am fully recovered from my flu shot and will be in line to do it again next year.  Much rather a day of feeling crummy than having flu.  

Filled up the car with gas today and, shockingly, the prices are still under $4 per gallon!  Probably not for much longer, alas.  Seems like everything is shockingly expensive right now.  Increased energy costs, supply chain issues, so on and so forth.  It has to be very difficult for people living on a fixed income.  

I am thinking dark with orange today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.