Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mr Stinky

This seems an appropriate entry for today - a Marmorated Stink Bug.  This is an invasive species and one I don't usually pay much attention to, but after scouring the garden for any signs of insect life, this was where I ended up - and he does look kind of interesting tucked into a dying zinnia blossom.  If you aren't familiar with them, stink bugs emit a nasty odor if they are threatened, presumably to deter predators.  I can speak with some authority as to the effectiveness of this strategy with Jax - after his first encounter with a stink bug, he leaves them alone now.

Speaking of Jax, he is at day care today, hopefully having a grand time.  I got my flu shot yesterday (the "extra" strength version for people over 65) and anticipated that I might not feel 100% today.  Sure enough, by the time I went to bed last night, I had sore muscles, a headache and chills.  By noon today, I felt pretty much back to normal other than being a little more tired than usual.  Good day for Jax to be off having fun.  And hopefully he will be worn out when I pick him up this evening!

If you'd like to see a spectacular bird from Colombia, click HERE to see my blip from last year!  

Dark with sea salt today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.