Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Downward Hatch

I am taking full advantage of the fall foliage in our woods right now - it makes such a pretty background for photos.  And also taking full advantage of the abundance of white-breasted nuthatches in the garden.  I would not be surprised if there are over 10 visiting the feeders although it's impossible to get an accurate account since they fly in, grab a seed, and fly out.  But sometimes I see 4 or 5 queued up around the feeder.  Cute little things and so entertaining to watch as they dart and twirl around branches - one minute head facing left, the next down and the next up.  Always far more blurry shots than clean ones.  In fact, the head in this one is not quite sharp - I gave it up for the sharp back detail.  This is a female, by the way, recognizable by her slightly lighter gray cap.

Jax and I took a nice walk on the Lane before the rain started.  He was very good with the "leave it" command today which I must have used 20 times for all the squirrels we saw.  Later, however, he came quite close to grabbing a chipmunk that scampered onto the deck while he (Jax) was on guard.  In that instance, the Leave It command fell on supremely deaf ears. Luckily, the chipmunks are fast.  

Last night I realized that at this time last year I was in Colombia, S. America having a totally amazing time.  Click HERE to see where I was this time last year!  What an amazing trip - just looking back at the images brought back the whole wonderful time.  One of the things I love about Blip is that it allows me to go back in time and recapture special memories, feelings, events.

Dark with blood orange today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.