A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Fanny’s

Returning from a trip to Owlcoats (M & S) in Pudsey we were waiting in traffic for Saltaire roundabout, I looked across to Fanny’s Ale house. I’ve only ever been in once for my first ever blipmeet. The rooms inside are very tiny and we (Wendles56 and I) sat by an open fire with Sgwarnog, Earthdreamery, Year of Happy and someone else who I think was called Paul, all local.
 It’s so small that when it’s open and you pass the thing you notice us everyone spilling out into the pavement. 

What I noticed today was the Police blue lamp over the door. Never noticed it before.  Sir Titus Salt didn’t allow pubs in his village created for his mill workers in Saltaire, named after him and the R Aire on which it sits. (Now a great UNESCO world heritage site) So this building obviously had an original use as a Police station.

No singing today as it’s half term so we did our shopping at Owlcoats as I could get some currency there. 

Off to church choir soon, Christmas songs to be practised. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.